Storybird lets you follow writers, artists, and Storyspotters. When they publish new books or artwork, these appear in your dashboard timeline. The more people you follow, the more interesting your timeline.
People can follow you, too. Then, your public books or reposts appear in their timelines. The more people that follow you, the more your books or reposts get noticed.
How to follow/unfollow/manage
You can follow people by tapping on the author button or by visiting their profile. You can unfollow them the same way. People receive a notification and email when you follow them. They do NOT receive any notification when you unfollow them.
Your Following/Followers lists are available under your Following tab on your Dashboard. The Following list is who you follow. The Followers list are the people who follow you.
A settings icon appears beside the follow/following buttons on your lists. Tapping the icon reveals:
1. Create IRL Connection: IRL (In Real Life) Connections are people you know in-real-life: friends, family, and schoolmates. IRL Connections see your books instantly and automatically, before moderation. (Sort of like a "sneak peek".)
IRL Connections are created using email addresses. Generally, the people you actually know (and can trust) are people with whom you share your email address. (If you have an email address of someone you don't know, don't use it for an IRL Connection.)
You can break an IRL Connection too.
2. Turn off reposts: if someone you follow is reposting too much stuff or stuff you don't like, use this feature. You'll still see the books they publish; you just won't see other people's books or artwork they repost.
3. Turn off instant notification: when someone you follow publishes a book, we notify you in your dashboard and through email. If they publish too much, or you simply don't want to be notified when their books go live, use this feature. (Alternatively, if you don't want any notifications from anyone, you can change this in your Settings.)
4. Block: you can block any member on Storybird. Once blocked, they can't follow you, see your stories in their feed, and can't comment on/heart/repost your stories.
You can unblock people, too. (Note: the people you block or unblock are not notified.)